London Underground Album 1: Subsurface Lines: Circle, Hammersmith & City, District & Metropolitan (Robert Schwandl)

4 In Stock

The first volume of a planned trilogy of books exploring the many fascinating styles of station to be found on the world-famous London Underground network.

This book covers all 103 stations on the Underground's four 'subsurface' lines:

  • Circle Line
  • Hammersmith & City Line
  • Metropolitan Line
  • District Line

Among these are some of London's oldest underground stations, with some dating from the 1860s, when steam locomotives started hauling trains in tunnels beneath central London. The book starts with a brief description of the 'subsurface' network and its development, then takes a ride along each line in turn, illustrating all of the stations along the way. For each station entry, a number of colour photographs are featured, along with a brief history and details about station zone, access and platform arrangement.

Superbly illustrated throughout with recent colour photographs. Dual English and German text. 160 pages.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better.