British Railways The First 25 Years Volume 13: East Anglia - Essex and Suffolk (Lightmoor)

Back Order

This thirteenth volume in this series covers the former Great Eastern Railway lines in the southern half of East Anglia, concentrating on Essex and Suffolk, with short incursions over the border into Norfolk and Cambridgeshire to complete the routes.

Until the mid-1950s, with the exception of a handful of L&NER-designed classes such as the ‘B17’ 4-6-0s and the arrival of the ‘Britannia’ Pacifics on the main line in 1951, this was still very much a Great Eastern railway. However, it would be completely transformed over the next decade with dieselisation and electrification, the introduction of DMUs and railbuses and the closure of most of the branch lines.

Chapter List:

  • Romford to Shenfield
  • Shenfield to Southend
  • Witham to Maldon
  • Witham to Braintree
  • Kelvedon to Tollesbury
  • Shenfield to Colchester
  • Colchester
  • Colchester to Brightlingsea, Clacton and Walton
  • Colchester to Manningtree
  • Manningtree to Parkeston Quay and Harwich
  • Ipswich
  • Ipswich to Felixstowe
  • Ipswich to Beccles
  • The Aldeburgh Branch
  • Beccles to Lowestoft and Yarmouth South Town
  • Ipswich to Cambridge
  • Stour Valley (Marks Tey to Haverhill)
  • Haverhill - Bartlow - Audley End - Cambridge
  • The Mildenhall Branch

Throughout the book an interesting variety of quality black & white photographs are used which portray the railways of this scenic area during the final decades of steam. Hardback. 208 pages.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better.