Today's London Overground: A Pictorial Overview (Pen & Sword)

Back Order

The London Overground, born in 2007 is a system of main line railways which link together to form a network which runs complimentary to the London Underground. The Overground was created by amalgamating several commuter lines into a frequent service separate railway system.

Today, it carries over 180m passengers per year and has a network consisting over over 100 miles of track and 112 stations. During recent years, it has seen further change with the introduction of a new fleet of trains.

This book contains a series of high quality colour photographs, providing an illustrated look at the Overground system and its trains since 2007. Images cover each of the lines served by London Overground and also the various classes of multiple unit which have operated on the system since its formation in 2007. Each photograph is accompanied by a detailed caption and an introduction is included within each chapter.

Chapter List:

  • The London Overground: A Short History
  • Clapham Junction
  • East London Line and East London Line Extension
  • Gospel Oak to Barking Line
  • Lea Valley Lines: London Liverpool Street to Enfield Town and Cheshunt
  • Lea Valley Lines: Liverpool Street to Chingford
  • North London Line
  • Romford to Upminster
  • South London Line
  • Watford DC Lines
  • West London Line
  • Willesden Junction
  • London Overground Signage
  • Overground Named Trains

Today's London Overground: A Pictorial Overview provides an illustrated review of London's Overground system; one of London's recent transport success stories. Hardback. 176 pages.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better.