Railways of Central Scotland 2006-15 (Key Publishing)

1 In Stock

The second of three volumes by Ian Lothian illustrating the changes that have taken place on the railways of central Scotland. This volume covers the period from 2006 to 2015, which included some of the more notable events in Scotland’s recent railway history.

Featured projects include the rebuilding and reopening of the lines from Maryhill to Anniesland and the Larkhall branch, as well as the opening of the Stirling to Alloa and Kincardine line in 2008, followed by the Airdrie to Bathgate route in December 2010.

The book is divided into eight separate chapters, each covering a specific geographic area:

  • The WCML and Cobbinshaw to Carstairs
  • Around the Glasgow Area
  • The Stirling–Alloa–Kincardine Line
  • The Airdrie to Bathgate Line
  • Main Lines Around Edinburgh
  • Edinburgh to West Fife
  • Greenfoot to Grangemouth
  • Larbert to Forteviot

Each chapter begins with a description of the main occurrences over the ten-year period and is followed by a collection of colour images from the featured area. All photographs are accompanied by detailed captions providing further information.

Railways of Central Scotland 2006–15 charts the development of passenger and freight traffic through the period, illustrating the changes to liveries, locomotives and rolling stock. Over 170 photographs are included, generally in two or three-per-page format. 96 pages.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better.